Nominations For Colorado’s 2017 Nightingale Luminary Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Colorado Nightingale Luminary Awards, administered and managed by the Colorado Nurses Foundation with regional outreach and regional selection provided by local Area Health Education Centers and independent Nightingale committees in the Pikes Peak Region and on the Western Slope.

The Nightingale Awards, given since 1985, are Colorado’s highest nursing honor. Nominations are accepted online at:

(PLEASE NOTE: Firefox and Chrome are the preferred browsers for this software)

Download the 2017 Nightingale Nomination Poster (suitable for printing)

How to nominate a nurse

  1. Meet with the nominee to discuss the categories and areas of recognition
  2. Determine which category of practice best identifies the nominee:
    • Category I: Nurses in Clinical Practice (50% or their time or above providing direct patient care)
    • Category II: Administrators, Educators, Researchers, Non-Traditional Practice Roles (any other RN)
  3. Determine area of recognition for the nominee and answer 6 to 7 questions regarding your nominee’s category/area of recognition. (Click here to review the questions):
    • Advocacy – advancing a cause or proposal
    • Leadership – motivating others to work toward a common goal
    • Innovation – demonstrating creativity that addresses today’s challenges/opportunities
  4. Identify two individuals to request a letter of support from (other than the nominator). These letters of support should address how the nominee has advanced the profession of nursing or has positively impacted his/her community. Be sure to share with the letter writers the category and area of recognition for your nominee
  5. Be sure to nominate your nurse in the correct region! Region corresponds to the county in which the nurse works. This list shows which regions accept nominations from which counties. If a nurse works in a facility, use the county in which the facility is located. If the nurse travels, use the county of the branch or office to which the nurse reports.

Download the 2017 Nightingale Luminary Nomination Questions

In 2017, up to 60 luminaries will be selected from hundreds of nominees statewide. That’s an increase from 48 luminaries in the recent past. In 2017, 12 of those luminaries — six more than in past years — will receive the coveted Nightingale Award.

Key dates

  • Nominations close statewide on 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 15, 2017, except in Southwestern Colorado AHEC and San Luis Valley AHEC
  • Nominations close earlier in Southwestern Colorado AHEC (11:59 p.m., Friday, Jan. 6, 2017)
  • Nominations close earlier in San Luis Valley AHEC (11:59 p.m. Friday, Dec. 16, 2016)
  • Please note the entry deadlines, these dates are final and there will be no extensions provided. The system will automatically prevent entry submission after the deadline
  • Regional Luminaries announced: Varies by region
  • Regional Luminaries recognized and state recipients announced: Saturday, May 13, 2017, at 7 PM Mountain time (tentative)


If you have any questions on the entry process, please contact the organizers at or 720-457-1004


• You may edit your entry after submitting, up until the entry deadline
• Please make sure all your personal details are entered accurately, including contact details, as this will be used in the awards presentation if selected as a finalist
• You can use the ‘copy’ feature to create a copy of your entry and change the category as required

Regional Recognition Event Dates

Central Colorado AHEC: Saturday, April 1, 2017, DoubleTree Hotel, 3203 Quebec Street, Denver
Centennial AHEC: Saturday, March 11, 2017, UNC, 2101 10th Avenue, Greeley, CO 80639
Pikes Peak Nightingale Committee, Inc.: TBA
San Luis Valley AHEC: TBA
Southeastern Colorado AHEC: Friday, March 31, 2017
Southwestern Colorado AHEC: Thursday, March 2, 2017, Strater Hotel, Durango
Western Colorado AHEC: Saturday, March 4, 2017, Colorado Mesa University, 1100 North Ave., Grand Junction